Bishop Tim Smith

Tim Smith
Bishop of the North Carolina Synod

Bishop Tim Smith began his ministry with the NC Synod-ELCA on August 1, 2015. Bishop Smith is a native of Salisbury, N.C. and previously served as pastor of St Paul’s, Startown (1986-93), and Grace, Boone (1993-2010) in the NC Synod. Just prior to his election he served as senior pastor of Lutheran Church of the Redeemer, Atlanta.

He is a graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill (M.A.), Gettysburg Seminary (M.Div.), and Drew University (DMin.). His ministry experiences include supervising 22 full-year interns, serving as Appalachian State University campus pastor, and being a featured preacher for Day 1 radio broadcast (formerly “The Protestant Hour”).

Bishop Smith and his wife, Wendy, have three grown children: Matthew and his wife, Keri; Isaac; and Ruth and her husband, Tommy. They also enjoy spending as much time as possible with their three grandsons and one granddaughter.

tsmith@nclutheran.org

704-680-9555

Synod Staff

Sandra Cline
Sandra Cline
Rick Godby
Rick Godby
Caroline Mocko
Caroline Mocko
The Rev. David Sloop
The Rev. David Sloop
FFF Resource Director
919-801-8256
davidsloop@aol.com
Deacon Tammy Jones West
Deacon Tammy Jones West
Leaders Learn & Leadership School, First Call, Discipleship, Youth & Family Min.
828-308-1362
tammy@lutheranyouth.org
The Rev. Danielle DeNise
The Rev. Danielle DeNise
Director for Evangelical Mission
704-680-9554
ddenise@nclutheran.org

The Rev. Sara Ilderton
The Rev. Sara Ilderton
The Rev. John Mocko
The Rev. John Mocko
Elizabeth Smith
Elizabeth Smith
Heilig Resource Ctr. Assistant
704-680-9573
esmith@nclutheran.org
Holly Zemke
Holly Zemke
Administrative Assistant for Evangelical Mission
704-680-9569
hzemke@nclutheran.org
Michael DeNise
Michael DeNise
Finance & Administration
704-680-9562
mdenise@nclutheran.org
Deacon GeoRene Jones
Deacon GeoRene Jones
NC Synod Liaison to Lutheran Disaster Response
704-680-9559
ldr@nclutheran.org

Kathy Muth
Kathy Muth
Bishop’s Administrator
704-680-9557
kmuth@nclutheran.org
Lauren Thurow
Lauren Thurow
Program Assistant for Leadership & Candidacy
704-680-9553
lthurow@nclutheran.org
Catherine Fink
Catherine Fink
Communications & Resources
704-680-9574
cfink@nclutheran.org
The Rev. CeCee Mills
The Rev. CeCee Mills
Diane Ryan
Diane Ryan
Office Admin. & Supply Coord.
704-680-9564
dryan@nclutheran.org
The Rev. Philip Tonnesen
The Rev. Philip Tonnesen
Campus Ministry, Deans, Global Mission
704-680-9558
ptonnesen@nclutheran.org