Synod Staff

>>Synod Staff
Synod Staff2018-08-30T13:34:41+00:00
Bishop Tim Smith

Tim Smith
Bishop of the North Carolina Synod

Bishop Tim Smith began his ministry with the NC Synod-ELCA on August 1, 2015. Bishop Smith is a native of Salisbury, N.C. and previously served as pastor of St Paul’s, Startown (1986-93), and Grace, Boone (1993-2010) in the NC Synod. Just prior to his election he served as senior pastor of Lutheran Church of the Redeemer, Atlanta.

He is a graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill (M.A.), Gettysburg Seminary (M.Div.), and Drew University (DMin.). His ministry experiences include supervising 22 full-year interns, serving as Appalachian State University campus pastor, and being a featured preacher for Day 1 radio broadcast (formerly “The Protestant Hour”).

Bishop Smith and his wife, Wendy, have three grown children: Matthew and his wife, Keri; Isaac; and Ruth and her husband, Tommy. They also enjoy spending as much time as possible with their three grandsons and one granddaughter.

tsmith@nclutheran.org

704-680-9555

Synod Staff

Assistants to the Bishop

The Rev. Sara Ilderton
The Rev. Sara IldertonAssistant to the Bishop
The Rev. Philip Tonnesen
The Rev. Philip TonnesenAssistant to the Bishop
Campus Ministry, Deans, Global Mission
704-680-9558
ptonnesen@nclutheran.org
Tammy Jones West
Tammy Jones WestAssistant to the Bishop
Leaders Learn & Leadership School, First Call, Discipleship, Youth & Family Min.
828-308-1362
tammy@lutheranyouth.org
The Rev. Danielle DeNise
The Rev. Danielle DeNiseELCA Deployed Staff
Director for Evangelical Mission
704-680-9554
ddenise@nclutheran.org

Program Staff

Sandra Cline
Sandra ClineProgram Staff
Michael DeNise
Michael DeNiseProgram Staff
Finance & Administration
704-680-9562
mdenise@nclutheran.org
Catherine Fink
Catherine FinkProgram Staff
Communications & Resources
704-680-9574
cfink@nclutheran.org
Deacon GeoRene Jones
Deacon GeoRene JonesProgram Staff
Coordinator Social Justice & Advocacy Ministries
704-680-9559
gjones@nclutheran.org
Lauren Thurow
Lauren ThurowProgram Staff
Program Assistant for Leadership & Candidacy
704-680-9553
lthurow@nclutheran.org

Ministry Staff

Rick Godby
Rick GodbyMinistry Staff
Kathy Muth
Kathy MuthMinistry Staff
Bishop’s Administrator
704-680-9557
kmuth@nclutheran.org
Diane Ryan
Diane RyanMinistry Staff
Office Admin. & Supply Coord.
704-680-9564
dryan@nclutheran.org
Elizabeth Smith
Elizabeth SmithMinistry Staff
Heilig Resource Ctr. Assistant
704-680-9573
esmith@nclutheran.org

Faith+Finances+Freedom Deployed Staff

Caroline Mocko
Caroline MockoFFF Deployed Staff
The Rev. John Mocko
The Rev. John MockoFFF Deployed Staff

ELCA Foundation Deployed Staff

Deacon Mitzie Schafer
Deacon Mitzie SchaferELCA Foundation Deployed Staff
Regional Gift Planner
for NC & SC
803-413-7827
mitzie.schafer@elca.org