conference deans installed

Conference deans are installed

On Saturday morning of assembly, the newly-elected (or re-elected) conference deans were installed. These pastors serve as an administrative officer of the conference in which they serve and as an extension of the Office of the Bishop in that geographic area.

The dean facilitates communication between the congregations in the conference and between the conference and the bishop. Deans usually install new pastors to congregations within the conference. Our synod is divided into thirteen conferences. The deans installed were:

Pastor Scott Anderson (Triangle Conference)
Pastor John Beeg (Salem Conference)
Pastor Diane Cline (Blue Ridge Conference)
Pastor Jonathan Conrad (S. Coastal Conference)
Pastor John Futterer (Cabarrus/Stanley Conference)
Pastor Jennifer Ginn (Mecklenburg/Union Conference)
Pastor Richard Goeres (Northern Piedmont Conference)
Pastor Ed Harper (Rowan Conference)
Pastor Alice Johnson Curl (Coastal Plains Conference)
Pastor Ben Kifer (Southwestern Conference)
Pastor Christy Lohr Sapp (Catawba Conference)
Pastor Matt Miller (Silver Valley Conference)
Pastor Rosemary Peek (Smoky Mtn Conference)

Additionally, Pastors Greg Brown (Catawba Conference) and Pastor Michael Collins (Southwestern Conference) were thanked for their service as they concluded their ministry as dean as of June 1, 2019.

Deans pictured: (l. to r.) Krey, Peek, Goeres, Lohr Sapp, Conrad, Johnson Curl, Cline, Harper, Miller
Photo:  Ray Sipe–pastor, chaplain, and techno-geek.