Conferences & Deans

Home>About Us>Conferences & Deans
Conferences & Deans 2017-03-01T18:09:47+00:00

map of NC Synod noting conferences, divided into clusters

Our synod is divided into 16 geographical regions or conferences. Each congregation is therefore a member of a conference. Each spring, conferences meet to discuss issues before the coming annual assembly and for worship and fellowship. Conferences may also call other meetings, training or fellowship events.

The dean, a pastor elected from within the conference, is the administrative officer of the conference and is an extension of the Office of the Bishop. The dean facilitates communication between the congregations in the conference and between the conference and the bishop. Deans usually install new pastors to congregations within the conference.

ConferenceNamePreferred E-mail
Blue Ridge MtnAnn Kellykelly4100@gmail.com
Cabarrus/StanlyCarolyn Bishopcarriebishop52@gmail.com
CatawbaGregory Brownpastor@sselca.com
Coastal PlainsTheodore Rusttedrust1@gmail.com
GastonJonathan Schnibbenpastorstpaulslc@gmail.com
Mecklenburg/UnionSara Ildertonilderton@stlukeselca.org
Northern PiedmontJudy Copelandjlewiscopeland@yahoo.com
RowanWilliam Harpereharper2@carolina.rr.com
SalemRonald Rinnrevrinn2@gmail.com
Sandhills/So PiedmontJohn Lockejpl406@gmail.com
Silver Valley (previously NW)Jonathan Conradpjconrad@me.com
Smoky MtnGregory Williamsgwilliams@gracehendersonville.com
South CoastalDavid Nelsonrevdpnelson@stpeterlutheran-nc.org
SouthwesternMichael Collinspastor.lifewithemmanuel@gmail.com
Synod LiasonPhilip Tonnesenptonnesen@nclutheran.org
TriangleKenneth RayKenneth.Ray@alumni.duke.edu
West CentralAndrew Millerdrewphy@gmail.com

CONFERENCE CLUSTERS

  • EASTERN CLUSTER
  • Coastal Plains
  • Sandhill/S Piedmont
  • South Coastal
  • Triangle
  • CENTRAL CLUSTER
  • Cabarrus
  • Gaston
  • Mecklenburg/Union
  • Northern Piedmont
  • Rowan
  • Salem
  • Silver Valley
  • West Central
  • WESTERN CLUSTER
  • Blue Ridge Mtn
  • Catawba
  • Smoky Mtn
  • Southwestern